Skip to Content


HFC Theatre prides itself on offering a diverse selection of arts entertainment for the residents of Michigan. Not all productions may appeal to or be appropriate for every person or for all ages. Therefore, patrons are encouraged to familiarize themselves with the shows we offer in order to make informed decisions prior to purchasing tickets. Hairspray is a coming of age show and includes some depictions of adolescent sexuality.

About The Production

The show is set at the dawn of the civil rights movement of the 1960s. Tracy Turnblad is obsessed with The Corny Collins Show and one of its dancers, Link Larkin. Though rejected by producer Velma Vom Tussle at auditions, when Tracey shows off some moves at the Sophomore Hop, Corny Colins gives her a place on the show. Tracey is soon launched to stardom, but can't stand that the show won't allow integration and does everything in her power to make it happen.

The show features memorable songs and spectacular dances.

The production is directed by Mary Bremer-Beer. Ms. Bremer directs up to ten plays a year for The Theatre Company and Detroit area professional theatres. She has won all of Detroit's major acting and directing awards and is the director of the Dearborn Youth Theatre. She made her HFC directing debut with Vital Signs, summer 2011. She directed our summer 2013 production of Drinking In America She was nominated for a Wilde Award for her ensemble work in Moonlight and Magnolias at the Jewish Ensemble Theatre. She directed HFC's production of The Good Doctor, summer 2014.

Musical direction is by G. Kevin Dewey. In addition to directing HFC choirs, he directs the City of Dearborn's 100-plus voice Summer Music Festival Chorus. He leads and is a member, as well, of the Vanguard Brass Ensemble. He has led the stage orchestra in the Players Guild of Dearborn productions of Chicago and 1940s Radio Hour as well as the HFC productions of Sweeney Todd, The Music Man, Pippin, The Wiz, and Tommy. Dewey also has performed in pit orchestras for Annie and Saturday Night Fever in productions at the Fisher and Masonic Theaters in Detroit.

Choreography for Hairspray is by Diane Mancinelli who directs the Henry Ford Community College Dance Program and Full Circle Dance Company (FCDC). She holds B.S. and M.Ed. degrees from Wayne State University in Detroit. She is the recipient of the Dearborn Mayor’s Arts Educator Award and has received the Distinguished Service to the Arts Award from the State of Michigan and the City of Farmington Hills. Ms. Mancinelli has choreographed numerous musicals at HFCC including, The Wiz, Music Man, Pippin, Cabaret, Oklahoma!, Damn Yankees, South Pacific, Finian's Rainbow, and Little Mary Sunshine.

Music by Marc Shaiman
Lyrics by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman
Book by Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan

Friday, April 24: 8pm.
Saturday, April 25: 8pm.
Sunday, April 26: 2pm.
Friday, May 1: 8pm.
Saturday, May 2: 8pm.
Sunday, May 3: 2pm.

Weekday Matinees
Monday, April 27: 10am.
Wednesday, April 29: 10am.
Friday, May 1: 10am.

Tickets are $15 for general seating, $12 for seniors and HFC staff, and $10 for students with ID.
Visit and click on the “Buy Tickets!” link.

Hairspray Photos
Hairspray Photos
Hairspray Photos
Hairspray Photos
Hairspray Photos
Hairspray Photos
Hairspray Photos
Hairspray Photos
Hairspray Photos
Hairspray Photos
Directed by: Mary F Bremer-Beer
April 24, 25,26,27,29,May 1, 2, 3

Cast and Crew

Henry Ford College
Social Science, Arts and Fitness Division
Theatre, Music and Dance
Music by Marc Shaiman
Lyrics by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman
Book by Mark O’Donnell and Thomas Meehan
Director Mary F. Bremer-Beer
Musical Director: G. Kevin Dewey
Choreographer: Diane Mancinelli
Scenic Director: Gerry Dzublinski
Lighting Designer: Scott Ross
Costume Designer: Judith Fletcher
Sound Designer: Alan Contino
Stage Manager: Josh Neilson
Artistic/Producing Director: Dr. George Popovich

Based on the New Line Cinema film written and directed by John Waters.
Produced through a special arrangement with Music Theatre International

Cast of Characters
Tracy Turnbald: Kayla Aue
Edna Turnbald: Eric Vega
Penny Pingelton: Caitlin Castle
Prudy Pendleton: Judy Fletcher
Amber Von Tusle: Anna Loftus
Velma Von Tusle: Shauna Rae Hazime, Mary Makled*
Seaweed J Stubbs: Marcellus Hogan
Link Larkin: Randall Nichols
Beatnik Chick: Chloe Schwab
Corny Collins: Dennis Marin
Wilbur Turnblad: David Alexander
Motormouth Maybelle: Brittany Reed
Inez: Alenna Mae Brown
Dynamites: Anita Holsey-Banks, Kennedy Cooper, Brittany Lowery
Mr. Pinky: Josh Neilson
Gym Teacher: Mary Bremer
Mr. Spritzer: Chris Boskovski
Principal: Dustin Cehaich/Phil Wailing**
Guard: Dustin Cehaich/Phil Wailing*
Thad: Dazhawn Bell
Matron: Lillian Rice, Pamela Osley
Cindy Watkins: Ieshia Walker
Nicest Kids in Town: Alexis Angiano, Sara Justice, Anna Loftus, Ivy Tarnoski, Adam Lynch, Randall Nichols, Matt Mayes, Shauna Rae Hazime, Mary Makled, Matt Van Houten Chorus/Ensemble: Jay Alaii, Alenna Mae Brown, Darrien Bryson, Mary Hawthorne, Alex Jaafar, Pam Osley, Lillian Rice, Carol Teegardin, Chris Thomas, Ieshia Walker, Dashan Bell

Conductor/Keyboard 1: G. Kevin Dewey
Guitar: Anthony Lai
Bass: John Smuk
Drums: Reggie Williams, Jr.
Trumpet: James Boster, John Hartwick
Sax: Mark Philips
Sax: Joe LaRossa
Trombone: Chris Shannon, James Witman
Pit Vocals: Bonnie Schippling, Rachel Common, Craig Lahti

Production Crew
Master Carpenter: Christopher Bremer
Electricians: Christian Plonka, Anita Holsey-Banks
Props Crew Coordinator: Carol Teegardin
Props: Gerry Dzublinski, Luv Castlebury, Arnold Coleman, Carol Teegardin, Ali Dopke, Anita Holsey-Banks, Venita Carter Costumes: Judith Fletcher
Makeup Design Coordinator: Judith Fletcher
Hair and Wigs: Kayla Aue, Ashleigh Martin
Makeup and Hair Crew: THEA/Theatrical Makeup Class
Costume Crew: Judi Ammar, Randall Nichols, Anita Hosley-Banks, Chloe Schwab
Lighting: Scott Ross
Poster and Program Design: Ashleigh Martin
Printing: Ken Donovan
Publicity: Dr. George Popovich, Gary Erwin, Mike Cochran, The Cast and Crew, HFC Graphics, Angie Lai Program: HFC Graphics, Dr. George Popovich
Advance Ticket Sales: Dr. George Popovich
Lobby Display: Angie Lai

Social Science, Arts and Fitness Division
Associate Dean: Randall Knight
Academic Coordinators: Carol Sloan, Eric Rader
Administrative Assistants: Tom Berryman, Linda Prisza
Director of Theatre: Dr. George Popovich
Director of Choirs: G. Kevin Dewey
Director of Dance: Diane Mancinelli

Artistic Staff
Director: Mary F. Bremer-Beer
Music Director: G. Kevin Dewey
Choreographer: Diane Mancinelli
Scenic Designer: Gerry Dzublinski
Lighting Designer: Scott Ross
Costume Designer: Judith Fletcher
Sound Designer: Alan Contino
Dance Coach: Matt Mayes
Dance Captains: Ivy Tarnowski

Production Staff
Stage Manager: Josh Neilson
Technical Director: Gerry Dzublinski
Carpenters: Luv Castlebury, Arnold Coleman, Ali Dopke, Angie Lai, Chris Boskovski, Anita Hosley-Banks, Venita Carter, Richard Thompson Scenic Artists: Gerry Dzublinski, Judy Fletcher
Scenic Painters: Luv Castlebury, Arnold Coleman, Ali Dopke,
Christian Plonka, Angie Lai, Anita Hosley-Banks, Venita Carter
Master Electrician: Scott Ross
Costumes: Judith Fletcher
Sound Engineer: Alan Contino

Running Crew
Sound Board Operator: Alan Contino
Light Board Operator: Christian Plonka
Props: Carol Teegardin
Wardrobe: Lillian Rice, Judith Fletcher and Cast.
Scenery Shift: Chris Boskovski and Cast
Box Office
House Managers: Gerry Dzublinski
Box Office Managers: Angie Lai, Christopher Bremer
Ushers: Friends of The Company

Thanks to Randall Knight, Reginald Best, Shai James, Ivy Tarnowski, Debbie Aue, Downriver Actors Guild, and Dr. Stan Jensen