Skip to Content

The Grapes Of Wrath

Based On A Novel By John Steinbeck
Adapted By Frank Galati

Realism and Wrath

James McGinty The Detroit Monitor November 1993

John Steinbeck's classic "The Grapes of Wrath" resonates with the timelessness and universality of the plight of the victims of natural disasters. Henry Ford Community College Theatre Department brings to life the dustbowl farmers of the 1930s as they are forced to migrate from their foreclosed farms in the adaptation of Steinbeck's Pulitzer Prize winning novel.

The Grapes Of Wrath

Richard Marsh Dearborn Press and Guide November 1993

The answer is ..."PBS' "American Playhouse.'" The question ? "What is the best description of the quality of Henry Ford Community College's production of "Grapes of Wrath?" This production is another in a long line of HFCC theatrical masterpieces and for director George Popovich. It should be with the amount of work the cast and crew have put into the show. They have been working on it for more than six months.

The Grapes of Wrath

News-Herald July 28, 1993

What it's like to be homeless will be seen up close when cast members of the Henry Ford Community College theatre department's upcoming drama, "The Grapes of Wrath," visit the Coalition of Temporary Shelter (COTS) in Detroit on Friday.

Among the cast making the trip will be Lincoln Park resident Jerry Burd, who will portray Grandpa and the Weedpatch camp Director; and Darryl Strasser, who will play Willy and Al Joad. They will join fellow actors Jaclyn Davis (a camp person), Shannon Murphy (Ruthie) and Emily Murphy ( a camp person) - all of Grosse Ile - and Jack Price ( Noah) of Taylor.

Directed by: Dr. George Popovich
November 1993

1993 Page Award Winners

  • Outstanding Achievement By A Technical Director: Thomas Anderson
  • Outstanding Achievement In A Non-Musical: Dr. George Popovich

1994 Page Award Winners

  • Outstanding Achievement By A Director In A Non-Musical: Dr. George Popovich
  • Outstanding Achievement By A Technical Director: Thomas Anderson
  • Outstanding Achievement In Set Design: Thomas Anderson
  • Outstanding Achievement In Sound Design: Dr. George Popovich
  • Outstanding Achievement In Special Effects Design: Dr. George Popovich

Cast and Crew

  • 1st Narrator: Yvonne P. Thomas
  • Jim Casey: Joe Hickey
  • Tom Joad: Brent Wellman
  • Muley Graves: Paul Rossen
  • Willy: Darryl Strasser
  • Man with a Guitar: Jack Price
  • Pa: Stan Newman
  • Granma: Bernadette Cassiday
  • Granpa: Jerry Burd
  • Noah: Jack C. Valian
  • Ruthie: Shannon Murphy
  • Uncle John: Sergio Mautone
  • Winfield: Parker Plague
  • Rose of Sharon: Tracey Spada
  • Connie Rivers: Andy Huff
  • Al: Darrly Stasser
  • Camp Proprietor: Charlie Price
  • Camp People: Andrea Lynn, Campbell Reyes, Corrine Fine, Laura Cindy Plague, Emily Murphy, Jaclyn Davis, Ivonne P. Thomas, Sarah Percy, Pat White, Rachel Jean Worswick, Belva Daly, Ann Maris Suchyta, Debra Greka
  • Man Going Back: Kevin Walsh
  • Gas Station Attendant: Kevin Walsh
  • Station Owner: Tom Dickieson
  • 2nd Narrator: Yvonna P. Thomas
  • Agricultural Officers: Kerry Plague, Charlie Price
  • Mayor of Hooverville: Tom Dickieson
  • Floyd Knowles: Kevin Walsh
  • Floyd’s Wife: Sarah Percy
  • Contractor: Charlie Price
  • Deputy Sheriff: Kerry Pague
  • Wounded Woman: Pat White
  • Officer-Deputy: Jack C. Valian
  • Weedpatch Camp Director: Jerry Burd
  • Al’s Girl: Debra Greka
  • Elizabeth Sandry: Corrinne Fine
  • 3rd Narrators: Jorden Rossen/ Pat White
  • Hooper Ranch Bookkeeper: Kevin Walsh
  • Men at Casey’s Camp: Charlie Price, Jack C. Valian, Andy Huff, Kerry Plague
  • 4th Narrator: Ivonne P. Thomas
  • Mrs. Wainwright: Sarah Percy
  • Starving Woman’s Husband: Kevin Walsh
  • Starving Woman: Sarah Percy
  • Joad’s Dog: “Honey”